Latest news


On changes in of SJSC “Latvijas dzelzceļš” Board

Today, February 9, 2023 the Council of SJSC “Latvijas dzelzceļš” (LDz) made a decision to remove the SJSC “Latvijas dzelzceļš” Chairman of the Board Māris Kleinbergs from his job.

SJSC “Latvijas dzelzceļš” Council Chairman Jānis Lange: “It is no secret that Latvian transit industry has been through severe turbulence in recent years, and SJSC “Latvijas dzelzceļš” is probably one of the Latvian companies that has had to change the most as a result. During these years, LDz has done a lot – it has increased the company’s overall efficiency and reduced the administrative burden, as a result, LDz core operating costs are about EUR 40 million smaller than before. However, in order for the company to be able to operate sustainably, we must always keep in mind efficiency, cost optimization and, above all, growth opportunities and development, even in situations where finding opportunities for growth seems difficult or almost impossible.”

The Council and the Board of SJSC ”Latvijas dzelzceļš” have on many occasions discussed LDz’s development strategy for the future, how the volumes of international and domestic freight transportation will be increased and the optimal role of LDz in maintaining the synergy and managing Latvia’s current 1,520mm and the new 1,435mm gauge railways in future. However, as a result of these discussions, we saw that the opinions of SJSC ”Latvijas dzelzceļš” Council and Māris Kleinbergs, Chairman of the Board, about the future development of LDz were different, therefore the Council of LDz made a decision to recall Māris Kleinbergs from the position of SJSC ”Latvijas dzelzceļš”  Chairman of the Board,” Jānis Lange went on to say.

An open competition for the position of chairperson of the Board of SJSC ”Latvijas dzelzceļš”  will be announced in the near future. At the moment, Rinalds Pļavnieks continues to work on the Board of SJSC ”Latvijas dzelzceļš”  will be the acting chairman of the Board until the competition closes, as well as Board Member Vita Balode – Andrūsa.